Wednesday, 9 March 2011

UGC & AICTE identifies fake universities, institutions

Today Smt. D. Purandeswari, Minister of State for Human Resource Development gave information in written , in the Lok Sabha.

The University Grants Commission has identified 21 bogus universities and institutions function in different parts of the country in contravention of the UGC Act, 1956.

Out of the 21 bogus universities and institutes, 8 are in Uttar Pradesh, 6 in Delhi and one each in Bihar, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.

The All India Council of Technical Education (AICTE) has also identified 350 unapproved institutions running technical and management courses/programmes in violation of the AICTE Regulations.

Out of these 350 unapproved institutions, 75 each are in Delhi and Maharashtra, 52 in Andhra Pradesh, 34 in West Bengal, 30 in Uttar Pradesh, 27 in Karnataka, 17 in Haryana, 14 in Tamil Nadu, 9 in Chandigarh, 4 in Gujarat, 3 in Punjab, 2 each in Bihar, Rajasthan, Himachal Pradesh and Goa, and one each in Uttarakhand and Kerala.

The name of such bogus universities and unapproved technical institutions has been integrated in the list maintained by the UGC and the AICTE, correspondingly and is placed on their respective official websites for information to the students and general public.


Post a Comment